Tournament Ended

TCS 2018: Starcraft 2 Team Brawl

TCS Starcraft 2 returns with Team Brawl! 4 teams will qualify to join our 12 SC2 teams for their share of $35,000 in scholarships & prizing.


Feb 2 - Feb 8, 2018


Feb 17 - Apr 28, 2018



College Students


This brief overview is not intended to replace the Tournament Rules. Registrants should carefully consult the Tournament Rules for additional requirements concerning the operation of the Tournament.

Table of Contents

Who is eligible?

  • College students in the United States and Canada
    • Community colleges are eligible
    • Students must be currently enrolled, or enrolled for the 2018 Spring Semester by January 22nd, 2018
    • Students must maintain at least a 2.5 cumulative GPA or higher to receive scholarship prizing.
    • Players must be considered legal residents of the United States or Canada
      • Foreign students residing in the United States under a valid visa are eligible
    • Players must be considered legal residents of the United States or Canada
    • Foreign students under a valid visa are eligible
    • Players must be the age of majority in their country of residence or under the age of majority but over 13 (a minor) with parental consent to participate
    • Players must have registered an account at Compete and a full account
    • Players must verify their school enrollment during registration by attaching a valid school email to their profile
    • Players that do not have a school email can contact support for assistance
  • Eligible teams must consist of 3 players, with an option for a 4th player as a sub.
  • There is no limit to the amount of teams that can register per school.
  • Schools that do not provide a school email can contact support
  • Additional proof of enrollment may be required.
For questions about registration and eligibility, feel free to Contact Us!

How do we play our matches?

  • Matches will be assigned on the 'Brackets' tab, they can also be found on the 'My Matches' tab when logged in
  • 2 matches will be assigned every week on Mondays.
  • The default time to play your matches is at 5pm PDT and 7pm PDT every Saturday, but matches can be rescheduled to an earlier time both players agree on.
  • Rescheduled match times are binding. You will be held to the match time you agreed to. Please make sure to keep screenshots of the agreement to play earlier in case of disputes.
  • A player that disconnect past the in-game allotted disconnect time will receive a game loss. No pauses are allowed unless requiring assistance from a Tournament Admin
  • Matches cannot be played later than their assigned time.
  • If a team is not online and ready to play 20 minutes of the match time, they will receive a match loss.
  • It is up to the team players to screenshot each victory and defeat screen during the match for match dispute purposes. Upon match completion, the winning team must report the win to their match page on the Tespa Compete website
  • Matches must be reported before the conclusion of a round. If a win is unreported, both players will be assumed to be 'no-show'. The conclusion of a round is every Sunday night @ 11:59 PM PDT.
  • If teams are found to be playing past the stated start times for their matches, both teams will be given a no-show for that match.
  • If a score is reported incorrectly or there is a score discrepancy, contact a tournament admin with relevant evidence
  • Screenshots of communications and matches with your opponent are extremely helpful for settling of any match disputes. Please screenshot anything and everything you believe might be important!

What is the match format

  • Players will play one best-of-three (Bo3) match against their opponent with the first team to win 2 games winning the match
  • The first map will be designated by Tournament Admins, after which the winner will ban a map and announce their next player and the loser will pick the next map from the remaining pool as well as announce their next player. No player or map may be played twice in a Bo3. The available maps for this tournament are:
    • Abiogenesis LE
    • Acid Plant LE
    • Backwater LE
    • Blackpink LE
    • Catalyst LE
    • Eastwatch LE
    • Neon Violet Square LE
  • Playoffs will be best-of-five (Bo5) and will allow 2 players from each team to play 2 games as long as everyone on the team has played previously. Each team will also only be allowed to ban 1 map.
  • Spectating by default is not allowed, however if both teams agree spectating will be allowed. If either team prefers not to have spectators, then no spectators are allowed. In Playoffs and beyond, spectators are not allowed.
  • Players may stream from their own point of view
  • Players have a maximum of 5 minutes to be ready for the next game.
  • Players may only use the account that is listed on their Compete account.
  • All lobby settings must be kept at Standard (No Mods, Melee, 1v1, Infinite Duration, Faster Speed, Locked Alliances, Privacy Normal, 100% handicap).
  • The only allowed player colors by default are red or blue. If both players agree the colors may be changed.
  • By default no game skins are allowed. If both players agree skins may be used.