Tournament Ended

Hearthstone Training Grounds

Hearthstone returns in 2016 for $50,000 in scholarship prizing!


Sep 13 - Oct 1, 2016


Oct 1 - Jan 31, 2017




College Students


This brief overview is not intended to replace the Tournament Rules, which can be found here. Registrants should carefully consult the Tournament Rules for additional requirements concerning the operation of the Tournament.

Who is eligible?

  • College Students in the United States or Canada.
    • Community Colleges Are Eligible.
    • Students must be currently enrolled part-time or full-time as of September 12th, 2016.
    • Players must be considered legal residents of the United States or Canada.
    • Players must be of the age of majority in their country of residence or if under the age of majority but over 13 (a minor) must have parental consent to participate.
    • Players must have registered an account at Compete and a full account.
  • Eligible teams consist of 3 players.
  • There is no limitation on Teams Per School.
    • All players must attend the same school.
  • Players must verify their school enrollment during registration by attaching a valid school email to their profile.
    • Additional proof of enrollment may be requested.

What is the schedule?

Please refer to the Schedule tab for the full schedule.

What is the match format?

  • Decks must be playable ‘Standard’ mode
  • Teams of 3 work together to play one Best of 5 Conquest match.
    • Teams can play together in person or over VoIP (IE. Skype, Discord, etc).
    • The three players on a team strategize together to make each move, using a single account and a single deck per game.
    • The team players may confer between themselves, but they may not take outside advice.
    • Class and deck selections must follow the Conquest format.
  • Before each match, teams will be required to submit decklists for four unique classes - one decklist per class - to Tournament admins. Repeated failure to do so before scheduled match time will result in disqualification. After the four classes of each team are revealed, each team will then self ban 1 class for the 3 remaining classes to play the Bo5 Conquest.
    • Using cards not listed in the submitted decklists will result in a round loss and subject to disqualification.
    • Teams may switch to another team member's account between games after clearly communicating to their opponents which account they're switching to.
    • Teams may only use accounts that are listed on their official roster on Compete.
  • Teams have a maximum of 5 minutes to select a new class between games.
  • The match format for Live Finals will be a ‘3v3 Class Match’ in which each player of the team plays one ‘best of 3’ for a total of 9 games between all 9 classes. Teams will alternate assigning each of their 9 decks to each player.

How do we play our Matches?

  • Matches will be assigned on the 'Brackets' tab and emailed to all players. You can also find your matches on the 'My Matches' tab of the Tournament when logged in.
    • Matches will be assigned at the end of each previous round.
  • Before each match begins, teams will be required to respond to the match email with decklists for four unique classes - one decklist per class. Once the four classes for each team are submitted and revealed, each team will then self-ban one of their four classes and play out the Bo5 with the remaining three.
  • Each round is assigned a match time and may vary by region (see the above schedule). Teams must be online and ready to play within 20 minutes of their assigned match time.
  • If a problem, in-game bug or other client-specific error prevents the teams from being able to make their move, the game (and or challenge) must be immediately remade. This rule does not refer to disconnects or internet connectivity issues. All players are responsible for their own internet connections. Disconnecting out of a game results in a loss for that game.
  • Matches can be played earlier if both team captains agree and they document the agreement in writing (for e.g. a screenshot of the in-game chat, email, etc).; however, they must wait until the team's scheduled match time to report the score or contact Matches cannot be played later than their assigned time.
  • If a team captain does not agree to play earlier, failure to be online during the scheduled round time within 20 minutes after the round begins will result in a forfeit of the match.
  • It is up to the Team captain to screenshot each victory and defeat screen during the match for match dispute purposes. Upon match completion, the winning team's captain must report the win to their match page on the Tespa Compete website.
    • During League Play, matches must be reported within an hour of the conclusion of a round. During Playoff dates, matches must be recorded within 20 minutes of the start of the next round.
    • If a win is unreported, both teams will be assumed to be 'no-show' and will not be assigned a match the following week.
  • If the team captain is unable to report the score, reports the score incorrectly, or the other team records the score incorrectly, that captain must contact a tournament admin with relevant evidence to show the correct outcome.
    • Screenshots of communications and matches with your opponent are extremely helpful for settling of any match disputes. Please screenshot anything and everything you believe might be important!

Region Distribution

  • The "West" Region shall include teams from Alaska, Arizona, California, Hawaii, Idaho, Nevada, Oregon, Utah, Washington, British Columbia, Yukon, Northwest Territories and Alberta;
  • The "North" Region shall include teams from Colorado, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, North Dakota, Ohio, South Dakota, Wisconsin, Wyoming, Saskatchewan, Manitoba, Nunavut, and Ontario;
  • The "South" Region shall include teams from Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Louisiana, Mississippi, New Mexico, North Carolina, Oklahoma, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Alabama and Puerto Rico;
  • The "East" Region shall include teams from Connecticut, Delaware, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, Virginia, West Virginia, Vermont, Quebec, New Brunswick, Prince Edward Island, and Nova Scotia.