Tournament Ended

West Playoffs - TCS Overwatch

West Playoffs for the 2016 TCS Overwatch


Sep 13 - Oct 1, 2016


Nov 13 - Nov 20, 2016




College Students


This brief overview is not intended to replace the Tournament Rules, which can be found here. Registrants should carefully consult the Tournament Rules for additional requirements concerning the operation of the Tournament.

Who is eligible?

  • College Students in the United States or Canada.
    • Community Colleges Are Eligible.
    • Students must be currently enrolled full-time as of September 12th 2016.
    • Players must be considered legal residents of the United States or Canada.
    • Players must be of the age of majority in their country of residence or if under the age of majority but over 13 (a minor) must have parental consent to participate.
    • Players must have registered an account at Compete and a full account.
  • Eligible teams consist of 6 to 30 participants.
    • Rosters are fluid for the first 5 weeks, you can add new players, remove players, or edit your starting lineup during this time.
    • All players must attend the same school.
    • Teams must designate 6 members of the team as ‘players’ and the any additional players as ‘substitutes’
  • Only 1 Team is allowed per school.
    • We encourage schools to designate a Coordinator to help manage your primary team.
    • If no Coordinator is designated, admins will handle team disputes on a case by case basis.
    • There will be additional Open Participation leagues announced later this year.
  • Players must verify their school enrollment during registration by attaching a valid school email to their profile.
    • Additional proof of enrollment may be requested.

What is the schedule?

Please refer to the Schedule tab for the full schedule.

What is the Match Format?

  • Matches will be played on the Americas server (PC)
  • Teams of 6 will play one best of three (Bo3) match with the first team to win two maps winning the match.
  • The first map will be designated by Tournament Admins, after the first map, the losing team picks the next map.
  • Should the Bo3 end in 1-1 or 0-0 due to map ties teams will play a control point map designated by Tournament Admins for the tiebreaker
  • One team captain must create a Custom Game Lobby and invite both his team and the opponent team captain. Lobby settings as follows:
    • Rule Set: 'Competitive'
    • Map Rotation: 'After A Game'
    • Map Order: 'Single Map'
    • Return To Lobby: 'After a Game'
    • Disable all maps except for the map that is to be played.
    • Hero Selection Limit: '1 Per Team'
    • Role Selection Limit: 'None'
    • Allow Hero Switching: 'On'
    • Respawn As Random Hero: 'Off'
    • Heroes: All set to 'On' unless otherwise communicated by Tournament Admins
    • High bandwidth: 'On'
    • Control game mode format: 'Best of 5'
    • Disable kill cam: 'On'
  • Spectators are not allowed
  • All players must be listed on the team page as either a 'Player' or 'Substitute'
  • Teams are responsible for their own internet connection, should a player disconnect the game must continue.

How do we play our matches?

  • Matches will be assigned on the 'Brackets' tab. You can also find your matches on the 'My Matches' tab of the Tournament when logged in.
  • Matches will be assigned as the previous round ends, so keep an eye on the schedule!
  • Each round is assigned a match time. Teams must be online and ready to play during their assigned match time.
  • Matches can be played earlier if both team captains agree and they document the agreement in writing (i.e. a screenshot of the in-game chat, email, etc).; however, they must wait until the team's scheduled match time to report the score or contact Matches cannot be played later.
  • If a team captain does not agree to play earlier, failure to be online during the scheduled round time within 20 minutes after the round begins will result in a forfeit of the match.
  • Teams must screenshot the victory or defeat screen of every game while holding TAB to capture the players present in the game. To do this hold tab + prt scrn then paste the screenshot into Paint or other image software. (Example Screenshot)
  • Upon match completion, the winning team must report the win and upload relevant replays to their match page.
  • If the team captain is unable to report the score, reports the score incorrectly, or the other team records the score incorrectly, that captain must contact a tournament admin with relevant evidence to show the correct outcome.
  • A team may request a pause only in the presence of a technical issue.
    • If you are the team who controls the lobby, you must still request the pause to give the other team fair warning.
    • We ask teams to wait until after any ongoing team fight before pausing.
    • The default pause configuration is Ctrl+Shift+”=”.
  • Each team has a maximum of 3 pauses per match with each pause having a maximum duration of 5 minutes.
    • The team that does not request the pause is to say the end time of the pause to keep track of time.
    • If a team does not unpause in time, the immediately use their next pause and add 5 mins to the current pause timer.
    • If a team has no pauses left and a pause timer runs out, they are forced to forfeit the current map.

Region Distribution

  • The "West" Region shall include teams from Alaska, Arizona, California, Hawaii, Idaho, Nevada, Oregon, Utah, Washington, British Columbia, Yukon, Northwest Territories and Alberta;
  • The "North" Region shall include teams from Colorado, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, North Dakota, Ohio, South Dakota, Wisconsin, Wyoming, Saskatchewan, Manitoba, Nunavut, and Ontario;
  • The "South" Region shall include teams from Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Louisiana, Mississippi, New Mexico, North Carolina, Oklahoma, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Alabama and Puerto Rico;
  • The "East" Region shall include teams from Connecticut, Delaware, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, Virginia, West Virginia, Vermont, Quebec, New Brunswick, Prince Edward Island, and Nova Scotia.